The Pioneers


Who are the Pioneers?

The Pioneers are a group of exceptional individuals who invest £5,000 or more a year into cutting-edge research to save men’s lives.

Prostate cancer kills one man every 45 minutes; our Pioneers believe that men deserve better. As leaders in their fields, they channel their drive and ambition into taming prostate cancer once and for all.

Join us

Becoming a Pioneer is much more than a commitment to donate. It’s a commitment to be part of a powerful network of leaders driving a movement for change.
Professor Mark Emberton Founder Pioneer

Become a Pioneer

Your commitment

  • Pledge to support us with a minimum gift of £5,000 per year
  • Promote our work within your networks, encouraging them to join the fight against prostate cancer

Our commitment to you

The Pioneers are key players in turning our ambitious strategy, ‘Ten years to tame prostate cancer,’ into reality. In return, as a Pioneer, you will receive:

  • Biannual updates and ‘Newsflash’ e-mails, to keep you updated on the ground-breaking research your support is making possible
  • An invitation to our flagship event, the Annual Panel Discussion and Dinner
  • Pioneers-only events, giving you exclusive access to our leading scientists and the opportunity to meet your fellow Pioneers
  • Recognition on the Prostate Cancer UK website and in our Annual Report (unless the Pioneer wishes to remain anonymous)
  • A dedicated relationship manager, offering you bespoke communications and a personal point of contact

Are you ready to join us?

Contact our team:

Join us

I urge you to stand shoulder to shoulder with me, for the sake of men everywhere, so that one day, no man will face what I faced when I was diagnosed.
The Lord David Evans of Watford Founder Pioneer

Our Pioneers

  • Jonathan Abrahams
  • Ralph Aldwinckle
  • Thomas Allen
  • The Anthony and Pat Charitable Foundation
  • John Bloor CBE
  • Lady Joy Bourne
  • Brian & Jill Moss Charitable Trust
  • Joseph Burns
  • John Caudwell
  • Hadyn Cunningham
  • Tom Curtin
  • John Emberson
  • Professor Mark Emberton
  • Lord Evans of Watford
  • Chris Field
  • Douglas Flint CBE
  • Nigel Gee
  • Alastair Gibbons
  • Timothy Hailstone
  • Duncan Heath
  • Julian Howard
  • Caroline Jowett-Ive
  • Jemima Jowett-Ive
  • Nathan Kirsh
  • The Stanley and Zea Lewis Foundation
  • Sir Stuart Lipton
  • Stewart Matthewson
  • Angus McCaffery
  • Tony McGovern
  • Angela Milne
  • Jim and Caroline O’Neill
  • Hugh Orange
  • Gerry Pack
  • John Paynter
  • David A. Pretty CBE
  • Laurance Racke
  • Don Robert
  • The Cecil Rosen Foundation
  • Bim and Pardeep Sandhu
  • Bill Smail
  • Ivor Spiro
  • Cato Stonex
  • David Sullivan
  • Michael Tabor
  • Sir Peter Thompson
  • Ron Wahid
  • Anonymous Pioneers

Join us