Research Advisory Committee

Our Research Advisory Committee assess the research proposals submitted to our Research Innovation Awards funding call, and recommends to our Board of Trustees which research grants offer the greatest potential to benefit men with, or at risk of, prostate cancer.

The membership of the Committee has been carefully selected to ensure a broad range of expertise. The involvement of clinicians/researchers who are independent of the Charity is essential in achieving rigorous and transparent advice.

Our Research Advisory Committee must adhere to our Conflicts of Interest Policy.

Committee members

Independent chair

Professor Fran Balkwill - Professor of Cancer Biology, Barts Cancer Institute, Queen Mary University of London

Researchers and clinicians

Professor Dan Brewer - Professor in Medical Bioinformatics and Genomics, University of East Anglia

Professor Jason Carroll - Professor of Molecular Oncology, University of Cambridge

Professor Richard Clarkson - Professor of Cancer Research, Cardiff University

Dr Ravi Madan - Senior Clinician, National Cancer Institute (USA)

Dr Laure Marignol - Associate Professor in Radiobiology, Trinity College Dublin

Dr Joaquin Mateo - Group Leader, Vall d’Hebron Institute of Oncology (Spain)

Professor Helen McCarthy - Chair of Nanomedicine, Queen's University Belfast

Professor Iain McEwan – Professor in Cell and Molecular Endocrinology, University of Aberdeen

Dr Cynthia Menard - Radiation Oncologist, University of Montreal

Dr Antoinette Perry - Assistant Professor of Cell Biology and Genetics, University College Dublin

Dr Prabhakar Rajan - Clinical Senior Lecturer in Urology, Barts Cancer Institute, Queen Mary University of London

Professor Craig Robson - Professor of Molecular Urology, Newcastle University

Professor John Spencer - Professor of Bioorganic Chemistry, University of Sussex

Dr Alison Tree - Team Leader, Institute of Cancer Research 

Dr Nina Tunariu - Consultant Radiologist, Royal Marsden Hospital 

Patient and public involvement representatives

Mrs Dawn Friend

Mrs Ann Graham

Mr Robert Oldroyd

Mr Derek Price